I was wondering to be hired by an Ambulance service, do EMT-B's need ACLS certification?? is it required? isn't ACLS stand for Advanced Cardiac Life Support?

Thanks;)
Bobbie Jo

Views: 229

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

No. EMT=BLS

ACLS= ALS treatments.

There is pushing of Drugs, and using a manual defib.

It helps to go through it to assist your Medic, but it is hard to actually understand.
I've been a basic emt for almost 6 years. It is not necessary to have acls certification, however there are certain things that you can do depending on your area to assist your paramedic (if on an als rig) as defined by standing orders. For example, as a basic here in the state of Arizona, I can assist my paramedic by spiking a bag of fluids and hooking up a patient to a cardiac monitor. I cannot however actually insert a catheter into a patient or administer any acls drugs.

Certain ambulance companies also have units that are staffed only by basic emts. They usually do non emergency transports.

Erin
In Jersey, they almost every bus is BLS. 911, interfacility. BLS.
Hello....Yes and no....Yes thats what it stands for and no as a basic you don't need it.....ACLS is for those that can administer medications....ACLS is a nationally approved protocol for dealing with cardiac emergencies....ie codes......Welcome to the family....stay safe and keep the faith........Paul
In the eastern part of PA, there IS an ACLS course for EMT-Bs. Held at LVH GEM-EMI, which teaches the basics and reasons of a 12-lead EKG, medication indications and reasons for administering different cardiac drugs, and pathology of an actual MI. It is not a required course, but strongly recommended if on an ALS unit.