My Chief just got a grant for a new fire truck. He told the whole fire Dept. that there are only 3 people allowed to drive the new truck. That’s my first problem. I am the Third in Command the highest ranking Captain I live in the next town over about 15 min from the station. A lot of the times I am the only command on the fire seen. Wouldn’t it make since for them to let me use my light? I already have my truck fully equipped for my other dept in Arkansas. I could under stand if I was a rook but he made me Copt for a reason. I am a MP/Deputy/ and a firefighter I know the rules and regs. Any Kansas Firefighters what is the rules for pov lights in Kansas.

Views: 196

Attachments:

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

First look at it in your chiefs eyes. Try to under stand why he said that, there might be a reason for it.
Cause some firefighters shouldn't drive if not proprly trained.

For the light and siren.
I don't allow my guys and females to us light and siren. Unless there 3 miles out of are township.
"guys and females?" that sounds a bit sexist.

Wouldn't "guys" be enough, since in English the masculine refers to both genders unless specifically stated otherwise?" Even "guys and gals" sounds better than "Guys and females."

Maybe the Best way to phrase it would be, " I don't allow my Firefighters to use lights and sirens."

As to the question in the forum....I think it's "New Car Fever" at play. Everyone wants to keep the new equipment pristine for as longas possible, that will loosen-up over time. Use your Chain of command and see if it would be okay for those three who can drive the new rig to train others, and when the Chief is comfortable they can handle the new beast, they can drive it outside of training.

GM
So the prob is..you cant drive the new fire truck..

Or you cant use your lights?