Ok. Since I started as an EMT, I have carried a lightweight wildland fire helmet that somebody gave me in my gear and I use it when I climb in cars, around extrications, etc.

Here's what I need to know: the ones they are "issuing" us in academy are of two types: old and heavy. I dont mind the old at all and dont mind the heavy if I can control it doesnt impeded me doing what I need to do. I have been looking at Morning Pride stuff and I like it. I think I prefer to go with goggles instead of a face shield. The question is, do I go with something more "traditional" like the Ben 2 or are the lightweights even worth anything. I dont mind heavy bunkers or packs, I just hate having something on my head that feels like an anvil and Im finding that alot of the younger fire fighters in my class are snapping their necks trying to control that helmet. Maybe they just need to build up their neck muscles. Any sincere info appreciated. I am also short on cash so if anyone has a good condition helmet that they might be willing to make a deal on after replacing it with a new one....please let me know by PM. Muchos Thankos.

Views: 255

Replies are closed for this discussion.

Replies to This Discussion

I have the Cairns 1010 with Defender visor. It was around $199 and it is very lightweight. It's more of the traditional style which I like , but doesn't come with the traditional weight.