Should firefigters, and i mean 18 yrs old and certified as a firefighter, who are still in high school be able to leave for structure fires? I support this if and only if its a small department with only a few people available during the day. What is your thoughts?

Views: 151

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Yes i thank it is ok if you are not in the midel of a test ore some thing you need to be ther fore school comes frist.
That's exactly how I started - I was 17, my parents had to sign a waiver for me to attend the fire academy and ride emergency vehicles, and except for a couple of local farmers that drove but didn't go interior, the high school students were 90% of the weekday manpower. We had a small station (Engine, Tanker, Brush Truck) that only ran about 70 or 80 calls per year, but a high percentage were working fires or extrications.

It was pretty good OJT, although I'm not a fan of OJT now that I have a few years of experience under my belt.

The answer to your question is "it depends". Most high schools require some type of community service, especially for Advanced Placement or International Baccalaureate students. I think being a volunteer firefighter is the best type of either volunteer or community service that you can do. If approached properly, the high school may even help you out - preferential parking for quick response, a faculty sponsor, help with fundraising, etc.
I like the above answer 'it depends'. I was in a Brigade where one member wanted to do just this, respond from school. There was a meeting between the Brigade, parents and school to work out exactly how often, if at all, this pupil could turn out. The parent said OK, the school said OK with conditions and that's what happened. The member responded from school, but abided by the school's conditions.