I am trying to find some views on how to get rid to the all about me firefighters. What are the chances that some of us volunteer because we like to?

Views: 152

Replies to This Discussion

dude no matter what you do there will always be that all about me fire fighter in the company.
there is a great chance that we volunteer because we like to... if we didnt then what would be the point?? you can always tell when you go on calls whos in it for the name sake or whos in it because they love it! the ones in it just so they can say "im a firefighter" are the ones who do not show up for wrecks, fires, first responder calls, meetings or trainings.... i have been in my dept for a little over a year now, for about 9 months i wasnt able to go to trainings or meetings because of school, when i did get a chance to go to a meeting, i wouldnt know 1/3 of the people there... some of which i have never seen on any type of fire call or training...
maybe they should start making the ones who never show up for trainings or calls to show proof of where they were, (like work or something) all they are doing is wasting the depts equipment so that someone who is really interested in it cant do it....
We put a clause in our by-laws that if you don't participate at a certain percentage of runs, meetings, training, and work sessions that you are available for then the Officers can put you on probation for 1st warning and evict you for 2nd offense. You have to be careful though because you have to make sure they were available and just didn't show up. Our policy says 70% and I make about 60% percent of the combined requirement. But I don't go to many work sessions because (A) I suck as a mechanic and (B) I spend a lot of hours every week coming up with new ways to get training set-up for the dept. As far as fire runs though, the only reason I miss runs is because of my work (I can't miss, be late or leave early).
Besides GLORY HOUNDS tend to fade away when they are left out in the cold.