Are there any of you that are attatched to a swat team at this time, and what is you polices on side arms and primary weapons?

Views: 92

Replies to This Discussion

I am currently attached with the Port Arthur Police Dept. SWAT team. Under Texas concealed handgun law I was able to carry a side arm during call outs. After some deliberation the fire chief thought this added increased liability, so I am currently not carrying. Whenever I am deployed to the hot zone, I am accompanied by a SWAT opereator as cover.
I am a full time police officer so of course I carry all the time. My primary role is as a tactical officer on the entry team, but I am the tactical paramedic for our team also. I carry a Kimber .45 Tactical and an M-4 with every bell and whistle you can imagine.

Gary
Cleburne PD SWAT (Texas)
We for me, we are employed by a privite ambulance company, and are attatched to a large city PD SWAT team, our primary wepones are MP-5 w/ opitc sights, and are side arms are Sig 226. we are paged out by our dispatch and PD shift commander, we respond with our own tactical ambulance and our tactical van.
I have to agree with Troy on this. The issue of carrying a side arm is agency dependent but largely hinges on two factors. Legality and liability. In the continental United States, most agencies allow a medic to carry, but when it goes to liability, agencies tend to change their thought process. I have wrote on this at length and if you would like to view the article, go to goarticles.com and type in tactical medical response initiatives. This is free so don't worry about cost. I hope that this will be helpful.