Lets have it:

Master Search Rope (main line); How Long? Directionals? Knots? carabiners / snap-hooks?

Personal Search Ropes (leads / teathers): How Long? what type? carabiners / snap-hooks?

How do you deploy?

Any other inportant info / Documents (control charts etc.)?

All info welcome!

Thanks,

Lt. Dan

Views: 204

Replies to This Discussion

Lt.

I have been teaching Large Area Search and Rescue for many years. My department uses the Chicago R.A.S.P. system for our primary rope. ( Do a Google search on "R.A.S.P.) and use there deployment methiod.

Personal equipment I carry a 50' and a 20' section of 1" tubular webbing with two 'biners and a 8 with ears, all held in a roll by intertube bands. it fits perfect in my leg pocked of my pants. I use the 50' as an emergency decent line along with large area searches and the 20' is for smaller areas and can be made in to a quick harness.

I hope this gives you some ideas.

Captain Rick
Thanks for the info

I'll look it up and let you know what i think

Stay safe

Lt. Dan
Hey Capt.

I got a chance to look it up.

It helps.

We have a very similar set-up for our RIT search Kits.
(In fact the distributer said he had just designed the bag for people in Chicago)

We use kevlar rope and its got rings and knots for directional every 10'. OUr RIT carries 50' tubular webbing in bags as personal search ropes. (I think 50' may be too long)

I'm really looking to see who's doing what for large area, you know with leads and leashes and what not.

I will use the info for sure.

Thanks, and Stay safe,

Lt. Dan
Tom
I was at Firehouse expo for on of if not the First H.O.T. season and had chief Cobb's presentation.

We encorporated some stuff into our RIT program.
(its our only officially taught search rope class)

I started this thread because I've heard that some folks are now teaching to tie the knots as you go this way there is no question as to what has been searched.