What if anything does your departments do if you have a member who has little or no participation? Volunteering is what we do but we have people who depend on us. When do they get put on inactive list or are taken off the department? Does any other departments have this problem? We have taken over 10 people off the department in the past year because of inactivity. These people are usually the ones who want to say "look at ME i am a firefighter" but when the tones drop they are no where to be found. Inactivity is not just during runs, but meetings, trainings, and special events.

Views: 74

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Thanks! for the reply! This may be something we need to incorporate into our SOP's
Sounds like you should work to find out why so many are inactive and see what you can do to get them more active. Merely sending people on their way won't solve much and soon you will have a manpower issue if you dont already.
Well actually since some of these people are just there to say look at me! Most of those individuals we don't miss, however we have our faithfuls who always show up, but manpower might become an issue later but not now. Our department is often called out for Mutal Aid even if we are not the closest to respond because the other department say Grapevine always shows up!
Thanks for saying it like it is!
My point was that perhaps there is some larger reason why the people chose to be inactive. For example, they may not like an officer or they dislike a new policy or some other reason. I doubt its as simple as they want to be a wacker.

Sure an SOP can address the you better be active or you will be fired, but it doesn't answer the reason why they are inactive.