Hey All,
I'm looking for some EMTs from VA. I need some information on VA's reciprocity & advancement process.
I am an EMT-B in MS. & I will be moving back to VA in the near future. What I need to know is if I should take paramedic down here? What is VA's exact process. In MS. the state doesn't recognise EMT-I because the National Registry doesn't recognise new Intermediates. So I can go straight into Paramedic school here. How does it work in VA? Any feedback is greatly appreciated.
Thanx, Stay Frosty,
NAFF

Views: 476

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

NAFF,

I wanted to give you as much information as I can. First Hi!, my name is Karen and I'm an EMT-B in Virginia. I also used to work for the Virginia Office of EMS, so I hope I can give you as many answers as possible.

Unlike MS, we do recognize EMT-I. What will have to happen is you will have to apply for reciprocity in Virginia. How that will work is they will gie you a Virginia Cert for 12 months. iN that time you will have to get the recert hours and also take the state test. Once you have passed that you will be certified as an EMT-B in Virginia for Four Years.

The ALS programs in Virginia are varied. Depending on where you move to, programs may be offered both through volunteer agencies and Community Colleges. Most of the major medical schools also offer the paramedic program (MCV and UVA are the two I know of for sure).

Here are some websites that should provide you with information:

Va. Office of EMS - www.vdh.virginia.gov/oems There phone number is 804-864-7600

Also, if you know othe area that you will be, you can check out the website for the regional council. The regional councils provide oversight to program administration on a regional level. Their website is www.vaems.org.

Good luck and let me know if I can give you any additional info.

Karen