Hello one and all:

So as you may have guess in my posts, I am an EMT, getting ready to start fire school. I come a little late to the game at 34 (have been an EMT for close to 2 years. Disaster response team for 6 months.

I had an automobile accident (while going to school in NM) and have been back living in my mother's home since then because of the massive debt I accrued from my injuries.

The problem is when I told her I was going to go to FF school and be an EMT, she claims to have misunderstood and thought that I would only running medical and trauma call. The municipal volly department I will be with also houses a privately contracted 911 response service.

But then came up the subject of interior firefighting. Now keep in mind, the service I will be with running between 85-90% medical and MVC calls. One of their firefighter/medics told me that in the 5 years he has been with them, he has gone inside 8 times. He says "we've just done too good of a job teaching fire prevention.: But since I am living at home, she freaked out about fighting inside and then to cover it said well I dont want to smell smoke all the time, I dont want to get woke up when tones drop in the middle of the night (we live in a very small house), etc which are totally things the she is saying out of fear. If you can get past the "move out, youre 34" please I would really like to hear what some veterans or even newbs have to say.

Thanks and stay safe