Having served on both coasts, I find the difference in terms interesting. On the West we have engines, turnouts and trucks. East has wagons and engines(both of which seem to be the same) , bunkers and trucks/towers.

Views: 90

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Never heard of a wagon used in the fire service tell then, cool to though:)
Attachments:
The "wagon" term is a throwback to the old two-piece engine companies that had a horse-drawn steamer engine and a seperate hose wagon that carried the hose. This terminology carried over to some motorized departments into the 1970's. Washington, D.C. operated two-piece engines that both had triple-combination pumpers back when I was a new firefighter in Maryland. If I remember correctly, they ran an officer, driver, and two firefighters on the wagon, which laid the lines and fought the fire, and a driver and firefighter on the engine, which caught the hydrant and relay pumped to the engine. It was a good idea in the days of 2.5 inch supply lines.

Most of the East Coast uses "Engine" designation now. "Wagon" may still used as firehouse slang, but most departments don't use the term in official designations. I've worked in three different East Coast states, and turnout gear/bunker gear were used interchangeably in all thre places.

I've also noticed that aerial apparatus with buckets aren't very common on the West Coast, while tower ladders and even some snorkels are fairly common in the East and even the Midwest.

Official terminology is pretty standard in the U.S., except for the tanker/tender controversy.
There are some tower ladders and even snorkels. But here they are still called trucks. Perhapse the wagon designation is just a local DC area thing. A dept I used to run with was in Northern VA and there first run 'pumper' was designated as Wagon
I think LAFD still uses the Task Force concept. Basically as you described the two-piece engines.