i am a firefighter in dublin ireland and i'm tring to get information on patient extraction techniques on road accidents involving modified japanese cars i would be greatful if anyone has any information

Views: 263

Replies to This Discussion

WHat do you mean by modified Japanese cars? Are you talking hybrids or something else?
i mean japanese cars fitted with nitrous oxide ,roll cages,non standard seats etc.
Now I get it- such as those in the movie, "The Fast and The Furious".

In reply to that, no other than to be smart about metal movement and extrication direction. ie: you're not going to be able to cut through rollbars, etc so we need to adapt our extraction techniques around the available space.

This freely available manual may offer some guidance on that http://www.emergencytechnologies.com.au/vet.htm (I was a contributing author)
Ironically the KED was invented for the purpose of removing a driver from a race car. It was designed to attach to the cable on a wrecker, after being put on the driver, and lifted through a hole made in the roof between the roll cage members. But then Ferno Washington bought the patents and removed the bullring attachment. There is a school taught at the Lowes Motor Speedway in Charlotte, NC. It is very good for race car extrication. They taught us to how to cut roll cages. You might look into this program for your info. It is very good, but it has been several years since I went to it and techniques may have changed.
Like any other extrication situation, the most important things are to a) stabilize the car to avoid unwanted movement, b) protect the patient from extrication activities with both hard and soft shielding and c) NEVER cut blindly.

You should always visualize the area you're cutting into to make sure that you don't cut through, say, a nitrous oxide line.

Roll cages are generally easy to cut - they're mostly just steel pipe.
A good recip saw with a 14 TPI metal-cutting blade goes right through most of them.