Hey everyone. I am an Engine Man through and through, and I am glad to be in this group but we need to start some discussion here!!
I have been reading articles and talking a lot about the Positive Pressure Ventillation/Positive Pressure Attack concept. I am an old school firefighter...grab the hose, stretch it to the seat of the fire, and as the hose team opens up the ventilation team pops windows and cuts holes. If everyone does their jobs than it does an efficient job of extinguishing the fire. Now you have the PPV concept...Thats all fine and good but from what I understood you need total control of ALL openings to control the air flow and the direction of ventilation. If any other opening is made than the fire will be "Pushed" towords this new opening, and I dont know about you guys/gals, but If Im the poor SOB caught between this new opening and the rapidly spreading fire, It will turn my day bad in a hurry. Im just not impressed with this tactic. Whats everyone elses views on this topic?
Moose

Views: 140

Replies to This Discussion

I was tought go in hit the ceiling with a fog pattern,then kick ash on the seat of the fire using a circular motion and the sweep from side to side.As far as venting goes cut the 4by4 holes in the roof to vent the fire,smoke.And pop the windows if you need to.I seen a newer method on the discovery channel the other night its called 3D fire fighting.you go in hit the ceiling with a fog pattern using small quick spurts of water.This is designed to disipate the smoke.And it also helps to vent the fire.You do this for a few mi utes and then go for the throat of the fire.
Thats just the indirect attack though, isnt it? You hit the ceiling with fog and the steam blankets the seat of the fire smothering it. Thats an effective tactic also, used to cool the fire down so you can reach the seat and put her to bed. What show did you see the firefighting stuff on?

Moose