Hello All,

I was wondering what training you took to be a Safety Officer and if there is any Resources and training online that you could provide to me?

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks, Bill

Views: 417

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Bill,

I was assigned as our department's SO based on my previous 38 years of experience as a firefighter and fire officer. I had no formal training.

I am currently studying the 2nd edition of "Fire Department Incident Safety Officer" by David W. Dodson. This is the required text book for those who wish to certify as an Incident Safety Office through the Fire Department Safety Officer's Association. I asked the FDSOA about certification and their reply was:

"Hopefully I can answer your questions in regards to FDSOA’s Incident Safety Officer. The test is referenced to two documents. The first is NFPA 1521, Standard for Fire Department Safety Officer 2008 edition. The second is a book entitled Fire Department Incident Safety Officer second edition by David W. Dodson, which can be purchased from FDSOA for about $54.00 or from Delmar Learning thepublisher of the book. However, you can go online and to www.amazon.com and click on the book tab and do a generic search. You will be able to find the book at various prices.

FDSOA’s certification exam was established in 1999 as an independent study or home study process. If you read NFPA 1521, 2008 edition the Dodson book Fire Department Incident Safety Officer, 2nd edition and take the learning objectives in each section and write them down in the form of a question and answer the question you should be successful in passing the exam. A passing score is 70% based on 100 multiple-choice questions.

The exam is administered using 4 different testing methodologies.