I'm relatively new to Firefighter Nation, but I'm noticing an unfortunate trend--this site seems to be geared toward the "fun" aspects of firefighting, i.e. structural firefighting, vehicular rescue and the like. It makes me wonder what the main thrust of Firefighter Nation is supposed to be; is it a training and informational resource, or is it a firefighters' MySpace, existing only for storytelling and socializing? Time will tell, but I'd like to get a discussion going on prevention and public education in rural communities. Does your volunteer department provide fire prevention and education services? If so, how? Does it impact your emergency response capability at all?

Views: 223

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Fun...?? Well I/we do love our work...But, believe me it is a LOT of work as well....and yes we have a very active education/fire prevention program...we do station walk throughs, school visits, pre-plans for area businesses,and one hell of a lot of training....this site allows us to agree to disagree on many subjects...and sometimes we actually learn from another department new ways to do something or even trigger thoughts on a better mouse trap so to speak...You will find some agitation here (we love to get someone going)... some true feelings for someone going through a bad time looking for a shoulder to lean on....and some jokes and funny tales...its all part of the "Brotherhood/Sisterhood" involved in this line of work.....doesn't matter if you are paid or volunteer...the beast is always the same.....Stay safe ...keep the faith........Paul
I could have not said it any beeter Paul :) If you do a search you'll find a lot of topics on fire prevention and awareness. Yes my department does a lot of it and we find it to be great p/r and a great tool to teach the public about fire and use.