My department has 3 juniors and we don't know how to get kids interested in the fire service. 2 out of the 3 juniors don't show up. Do you have any idea's on how to get kids to want to join and stay interested?

Views: 271

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

well i am a jr firefighter and you could get the other jr to start talking to other people or start advertising it or somthing or you can do fun thing's
If they don't want to be there on their own, you shouldn't force them. They will not be a positive part of the fire service. In my opinion that is a major problem facing many departments, poor morale. If they aren't naturally interested, making them be involved won't help.
r fire department started a little fire acadimy in the summer ware the public comes and let them try the hose the gear and the scba on and have them got threw little simlation what a fire fighter would go threw and we seem to find more people every year we at least get 2 or 3 a year
We just started a Jr. program our volunteer dept. We have two Jr.'s right now and what we decided to do was to work with the officers of the dept and they have to report to that officer all the time.

You can always hold a class at the fire dept and invite them to come and show them what they could be a part of. The main thing is be open and honest with them up front. If you have a school in your district will be a great start. Also the Boy Scouts has an explore program that might help with getting kids involved..
I know this is something thats hard to get some of the older members to adjust
to, but the potential is there if they are willing to make some concessions. A
department here had an issue with getting young members to join. They turned
Friday and Saturday nights into sleep over nights at the station. On Fridays
Saturday nights they all chipped in a few dollars, and made a dinner like a paid
house would. (set up, cooking, and clean up all inclusive) There was a