We are a volunteer BLS service in a very small town. We are paged to standby at structure fires, which thankfully, we do not have too many. The fire department is also volunteer and I am also a firefighter.

Our protocols demand we obtain consent prior to initiating treatment (of course) and once we have started our assessment/treatment we expect to transport. The patient has the right to decline treatment/transport at any time. Pretty basic I assume.

My question: Do you do anything different when on standby for a fire? Do you follow all protocols, or can you (for example) give a firefighter a little shot of O2 at their request without doing a full workup and transport? As a firefighter we have O2 on our rescue vehicle for just such occasions. As an EMT I don't think I can give O2 unless doing a full assessment and transport. The black and white answer is of course to follow protocol, but is that the only answer? My thought is to direct the firefighters to the rescue vehicle, there are firefighters capable of running the O2. What is the RIGHT way to handle this?

Views: 1613

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion