Hi everyone...

Well I have been a firefighter for about 7 months now, and have been to a good number of calls and done quite a bit of training...I have moved away from my department temporarily to attend college. No one has ever really said exactly what tools I should carry in my gear, so I dont carry any. I have gotten along fine without anything, but like I said, I have only been active for 7-8 months. What tools should I carry in my gear? Swiss army/multi use tool type stuff, carabeners? Nothing? Input anyone...

Howard

Views: 101

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

When I started in the dark ages I had pockets filled with stuff but as time went on this became less and less. Now a small knife and 20 ft length of rope wire cutters chalk n door stops is about all I have.
http://www.firefighternation.com/forum/topic/show?id=889755%3ATopic...

In the end it would all depend on what you feel you need, and then whats practical in your gear
Tools, well, I carry 2 hose straps with a big "D" ring caribiner between them, a pr of electrical pliers the one with the squared off end, one pr of work gloves not fire type, one pr of structure gloves, 1 CPR package with one with mask and gloves, 1 pen, 1 little notebook, 1 Pelican super saber, 1 portable radio when I get off the truck, 1 pr of safety glasses with the plastic package still on them (keeps them clean), and lastly 1 folding hose wrench.

The hose straps can assist for escape, tieing something down, hoisting other tools, pliers can cut all kinds of wire, work gloves for other non-fire duties, structure gloves, CPR for the down and not breathing, flashlight for seeing better, radio to talk to someone, glasses to keep stuff out of my eyes, wrench for the hoses.