I have been a firefighter for over 18 years now and most of my training has been on the job. Now they are saying that we all need FF1 in order to get grant monies and other certifications. I have my FF1 but feel it was a waste of my time just to get this piece of paper and so do others in my department. We have been told that a rookie fresh out of FF1 class has a better chance of getting a job as a FF do to the fact that he/she has FF1.
What about all the FF's that have been around for years and have been in many many different fires and rescues? Was that just a waste of time? They have all of this on the job training and it should count for something! I feel they are better prepared for a fire and/or rescue then a rookie just out of class. Now granted, we were all rookies at once and had to start there but to say that a fresh FF1 rookie is more qualified than an vetran of many years is no good.
Well, this is just my opion. I hope to hear your opion on the subject.

Views: 425

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I agree with you Edward in theory, that training should not ever end and yes learning the basics in a boot camp is good, When I went to the ROCK in NY they tried to burn us to death and then ran the pain out of us. The problem I see now is that Insurance companies are running the world now, no live burn drills for young kids in most places wearing a seat belt on my truck after I put on my gear and don a pack and its all a matter of CYA most of these classes. All new professionals see I didnt say probie slime need more hands on training I dont mean on the job I mean real training not videos and books.
My profile says remember all you new book smart firemen BOOKS BURN IN FIRES. I mean that, we need to train for safety of us not protection of the suits.