Being a fire investigator, inspector and self proclaimed radio geek, I marvel at the amount of radios that are being installed in Chief's cars of late. I saw an SUV the other day with 10 radios in it. Now I am not an expert BUT. Is it not a little sensory overload to have 10 radios on all at once??? That also does not include cell phone, PDA, Computer, Satellite radio and OHHH ya this one had a DVD player built in.
I think we are missing the point of inter-operability. We need to be safe out there.
A chief that has 10 radios going at the same time is NOT hearing the message.
That is my opinion I could be wrong. Let me know what you think.

Views: 122

Replies to This Discussion

No doubt!! I teach a radio class at my hall and i actually proved to my members that SCANNING alone could sometimes confuse one. Stay on one channel, preferably the channel designated for the "fireground" and let the command post handle the rest. If the whole "operations" is on one channel, there is less chance for a "mis-communication"!!
WOW! I have never seen 10 radios is one vehicle. I am volunteer firefighter and the unofficial radio geek for our small department. I have a hard enough time getting our guys to remember to bring their portable with them in the first place. We have all of our portables programmed with the Texas Interoperability channels. If the incident is more than 5 miles or so from our repeater, then we all go to TEXAS-FIRE 1 so that we can talk to each other. We recently had to go to TEXAS-FIRE 2 because of a large brush fire operation south of us. I assume that most other states have the same type of Interoperability plan in place. How do other departments handle their radio communications?
Lamar
TEN RADIOS??? I have found that you can do a fine job with two radios, of course I was only working with three other agencies, but I can't see the need for more than three.