Hello everybody. I want to use this discussion to let everyone talk about what airport he is from or whatever he wants to say about his job.

Well, I'll do the start.
I'm a firefighter at Cologne Airport in Germany. It's the 4th biggest passenger airport in Germany and the 2nd biggest cargo airport. UPS has its europe hub there and FedEx is building a new huge hub this time. My fd consists of two firehouses with together 23 fire trucks. 104 firefighters do their job in a two-shift-system. 21 firefighter have to be there each 24 hours.

Views: 650

Replies to This Discussion

well, right now im at goodfellow afb in the fire academy, i am almost done w/ the academy, i am goin to be based at dyess afb, texas and that base has B-1B lancers and C130H
My department does not come close. We do have UPS and Fed Ex. UPS flies a 1900 and Fed Ex flies 727. When it comes to operations we are one the busiest in the nation. Mostly do to student traffic. If you are wondering I work at Grand Forks International Airport in Grand Forks, North Dakota. Our department not only does ARFF, we also are Airport Operations. So you name it we do it. We work 8 hrs shifts. We are staffed 24/7 with at least one man. During the hrs from 0000 to 0530 we only have one on duty. Three units make up our apparatus. Two 1500 units and 1 ambulance. Last fall Fed Ex donated a 727 to us for training. What a great tool to have. It is nice to be able to practice on a real aircraft. Look for pictures later.

MikeyPete
hello, i work at a company owned airport. i work for dhl out of wilmington,ohio.we have 2 stations and are manned 24/7. we have dc-8s,dc-9s,727s,767s,747s and a-300s plus a few smaller a/c. we run ems also
I am at the Buffalo-Niagara Int'l airport 2 miles East of Buffalo,new York (NO there is no snow now ,But the glycol pad has 2 feet by 6 feet by100 feet of stuff???) we do about 5 million passengers a year..